Demerit Point Offences

122548621The Demerit Point Scheme is imposed by the Roads and Maritime Services (RMS) for some types of driving offences, including speeding, not stopping at a red light and failing to display P plates.

All driving offences attract different demerit points. The more serious the offence, the higher the demerit points. If you commit an offence, you will ordinarily receive a penalty notice in the mail, confirming how many demerit points you have received and the amount of the fine imposed.

Once you accumulate a certain number of demerit points, your Drivers Licence will automatically be suspended. The length of time a licence is suspended will depend on the number of demerit points received.

Demerit points will stay on your licence for three (3) years after the date of the offence. All demerit points will be noted on your Traffic Record. After three (3) years since the date of the offence has lapsed, you will receive your points back.

Driving offences and the corresponding demerit points include the following (click on each type of offence to view the RMS downloadable list):

1. Speeding

2. Parking

3. School Zone Offences

4. General Driving Offences

5. Heavy Vehicle Offences

6. Heavy Vehicle Driver Fatigue Offences

Leave a reply